Brian Rieusset speaks on the history of the Campbell Street Prisoners Barracks, Gaol and Penitentiary Chapel. Dating from the early 1800’s, the Campbell Street Prisoners' Barracks complex managed the regulation, billeting and dissemination of virtually every male convict in Van Diemen’s Land. Following the end of convict transportation the Campbell Street complex became the Hobart Gaol for just over 100 years with minimal basic improvements. In 1860 the Penitentiary Chapel was converted into Supreme Courts for criminal trials whilst retaining a chapel for the gaol.
Brian Rieusset is an author and historical researcher specialising in convict and penal history. His association with the Campbell Street complex dates from the 1950s and later for many years he was the voluntary Curator of the Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site. His talk will present a visual interpretation of this fascinating Barracks and Gaol Site from its inception until its ultimate destruction.