THRA | Commitee

Caroline Homer
Supper Co-ordinator

Caroline Homer is an archivist and librarian who works for the Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office.

Ian Terry
Vice President
Membership Secretary

Ian Terry has been a member of THRA since 1997. He has worked as a freelance historian and is currently the Senior Curator of History at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

Ross Kelly

Ross Kelly is a past Secretary of THRA. He is a (semi-)retired economist, and is also involved with orienteering, bushwalking and car trial navigation.



Stefan Petrow
 Newsletter Co-ordinator

Born in Hobart, Stefan Petrow teaches in the School of History and Classics at the University of Tasmania and has been a member of THRA since 1990. He has served two three-year terms as President.

Caitlin Sutton
Committee member 

Caitlin Sutton is the curator of the Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts, Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office, based in Hobart.

Chris Tassell
Committee member

Chris Tassell has been the Director of the Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery, Launceston and Managing Director of the National Trust Tasmania. He has been actively involved in the documentation of Tasmania’s cultural heritage.

Alison Alexander
FAHS representative
Editor THRA Papers and Proceedings

Alison Alexander has written 26 books about Tasmania's history, mostly commissioned histories. In 2013 she published The ambitions of Jane Franklin. This book won the Australian National Biography Award  in 2014.  Her most recent book is Corruption and Skullduggery: Edward Lord, Maria Riesley and Hobart's tempestuous beginnings.



Brian Rieusset

Brian Rieusset had a diverse professional life in electronics and educational television. FOr many years he was the curator of the Penitenitary Chapel Historic Site. He now concentrates on convict and gaol historical research. Among his five books are Maria Island Convicts1825-1832 and Inside Hobart Gaol 1882

Bernard Lloyd
Website Editor

Bernard Lloyd is a non-fiction writer and film-maker.  His two histories are Before We Eat: A delicious slice of Tasmania's culinary lIfe and The Watergetters: How Hobart quenched its thirst.

Leonie Mickleborough

Leonie  has been a member of THRA since 1984, having been inspired by Michael Roe's enthusiasm.  She is particularly interested in the lives of early colonists, both convict and free.

Jessica Walters

Committee member

Jessica Walters is an archivist for the Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office.

^ top of the page
Content Image